My weekend with the Master Cleanse

Okay, So heres my Master cleanse experience:

I started the cleanse the morning after Thanksgiving… definetly the wrong thing to do. Its not fair to stuff your body with all of that delicious food one day and then cheat it with water downed lemonade the next. As you can tell from my less-than-cheery tone, I was not successful in my attempt at the Master cleanse.

So the day after Thanksgiving, I woke up all excited to start my cleanse. I poured my 32 oz of water and  my sea salt into my gym water bottle and with that first gulp all my optimism went flying right out the window. I don’t know what it was but i could not handle the Salt water mix. I ‘ve read how people who have done the cleanse say the salt water is so very hard to take but i honestly didn’t imagine it would be this hard. I could only manage about 4 oz. and I was done.  So, already feeling defeated I marched back into the kitchen and made my “lemonade”. Okay the lemonade is actually really good. I really enjoyed drinking it. I didn’t feel hungry after one 8 oz. bottle of it and was good to go for a few hours. So, here is when it really went downhill: Okay, my sister is very pregnant, 38 weeks, and she needed to go to the store that afternoon. Her boyfriend being at work, it was my sisterly duty to take her. It was about 12pm and I hadn’t had a bottle of lemonade since about 8 that morning. Well, I figured that we would only be out for about 30 min. so I could just whip one up when I got back. Boy was I wrong, so ater 2 hours at the store feeling like my stomach was eating itself and my head pounding and literally feeling like  I was the walking dead, we finally came back home. I ran into the kitchen and rushed to make my drink. na-uh… didn’t do anything i waited about half an hour and still felt like i was dying. So i gave in, I dragged myself to the kitchen and made one of the best leftover turkey and stuffing sandwiches I’ve ever had. I felt like such a faiure after I ate it. But… I decided that I’m going to just gradually replace my meals with the lemonade. I haven’t weighed myself yet but I already feel lighter just over the weekend so I’m happy about my decision. I will keep you posted on my results.

One thought on “My weekend with the Master Cleanse

  1. Hi Jess

    Reading your post reminds me about the struggles that many of my colleagues, family and friends have shared with me about dieting. To be honest with you, I do not believe in dieting. My philosophy is not to starve or limit yourself, rather to eat many small meals in the day and also include an indulgence now and then. Others call it cheating, I all it balance. Moderation is good and that way we do not have to feel guilty about what we were meant to eat.

Leave a Reply

